Can England Win the 2019 Cricket World Cup?


Despite being the nation where cricket was formed, England have yet to win the 50-overs Cricket World Cup since the tournament was introduced in 1975.

The English have thrice been runners-up in the event. In 1979, they lost by 92 runs against the West Indies. In 1987, they lost by just several runs against Australia and four years later against Pakistan in 1992, they lost by just 22 runs.

Despite the English having underachieved in the World Cup for more than four decades, 2019 could be their best chance yet to win it. Not only are they playing on home soil but they are also currently the world’s top ranked cricket nation.

England Amongst Betting Favourites

The three favourites to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup when considering the best cricket betting strategies for the outright markets would have to be England, India and Pakistan. India have a formidable team as usual, with Virat Kohli being arguably the best batsman in the world. Pakistan tend to be unpredictable but have a habit of playing world-class cricket at major tournaments so you can never count them out. However, it will be the English that will go in as slight favourites over India and Pakistan.

Sri Lanka are not the force that they were eight years ago due to the retirements of several former pioneers. Australia are not looking good due to the bans which were received by Steve Smith and David Warner. South Africa do not have the best of records in England and will have to play an inexperienced side without AB De Villiers, who retired from international cricket earlier in 2018.

The English cricket team has done well on home soil in recent years. 2018 was memorable on the ODI circuit for them as they secured a 5-0 ODI series whitewash victory against 2015 World Cup winners Australia.

Eoin Morgan: Inspirational Captain

For many years, the English showed flashes of brilliance but struggled for consistency, particularly against the likes of Australia, South Africa and India. However, the captaincy of Eoin Morgan has changed that. Morgan is arguably one of the best captains in world cricket and has been behind the team’s rise to number one in the ODI rankings.

Since Morgan took over the captaincy, he has encouraged his players to focus on playing their natural game and not concentrating on anything else. They reaped the rewards for this approach during the 5-0 thrashing of Australia.

They also recently defeated Sri Lanka 3-1 in an ODI series. The English arguably have the most strength in depth out of any of the teams that will be playing in the 2019 World Cup. They bat deep. Even Adil Rashid, who will likely bat at number 10, has an average of over 20, a strike rate of over 100 and an international 50 to his name.

As reported by Sporting News, veteran English test fast bowler James Anderson indicated that England will really have to “screw up” to avoid winning the 2019 World Cup due to the quality they have within their ranks.

The likes of Joe Root, Alex Hales, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler and Ben Stokes are all hard hitters of the ball and can take the game away from any side on their day. With them on top form, England will have a good chance of winning the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.